Lens Flicker, tried everything to solve it! Please Help.

Hi everyone,  I have a really confusing problem. I have been doing stop motion for many years now, but only since last year have I tried to make it a profession, but one thing in stopping my work looking professional is the bad flickering in my films. I’ve tried everything. Im using a canon, so I decided to buy a high quality Nikon lens adapter, so I can mount the older style manual aperture lens. I then bought a older style manual Nikon lens, to override the the aperture, but I still have the exact same flickering! It really doesn’t make sense and I have tried nearly everything.  

Also here is my setup:

• Using Dragon Frame
  • Using Dedolights
  • Using a canon E0S 600d, with very pricey Novoflex adapter E0S/ NIK NT
  • Using a Nikon manual aperture 55mm Macro lens
  • Wearing black clothing
  • Room with no other light coming through over than dedolights.

Thanks a lot!

Views: 1696

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Whitebalance, ISO and shutterspeed are manual too?

And too short exposuretime is a possibility for flickr.

HI I think they are all set to manual, do you mean in Dragon or on the actual Canon settings?

And what sort of exposure would you recommend? Thank mate, I appreciate the help.

If the Camera is in the Manualmode and you set ISO and whitebalance manual in Dragonframe it should be okay. But it is important.

I heard, that you should not get shorter than 1/30s. Because Cameras don't get the 100% same exposuretime for each frame. So if you choose longer exposuretime, the differences don't count that much. I have no experience with that. Its just what i heard and it sounds right to me.