Hi all, I've been an amateur animator for over a decade now but am totally new to these forums, was hoping someone could help me with a major problem I'm having. 

Having been animating at an amateur level for sometime, I really wanted to step up the quality of the work I was producing. I have the demo of dragon frame to test it out, with the hopes of buying it soon, and a brand new Nikon D3300. The two go hand in hand beautifully, save one thing: the flicker. After looking through the forums and on the dragon frame website, I found that my problem is probably the lens. I quickly spent the last bit of money I have saved for this sort of thing on a Nikkor AF 50mm lens. Much to my dismay, it arrived yesterday, and doesn't actually feature a focus feature, and my camera, as far as I can tell does not autofocus. I understand I should have looked this up beforehand, but am not well educated in photography and thought a focus wheel was standard!

I'm not sure where to go from here. I have looked online and can't find a nikon lens that features an aperture ring AND a focusing one. In the meantime I'm having to grin and bare it with the flicker, but would love to know the best path to take to get rid of it. Will be returning the lens, unless anyone knows of a workaround?

Any advice would be much appreciated! 

Views: 1019

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

The problem is the AF in the name of the lens - it means autofocus, and is what you need to avoid. You need to get an older manual focus lens and an adapter to make it fit your camera. 

I've listed a bunch of informative threads here:

Link list - Handy links to useful information on the forum

At the very top are several relating to exactly what you're doing that are filled with loads of info. If you go through the first 2 or 3 threads you'll understand the situation. This is a very common question and has been asked and answered many times. And if you have any questions, fire away here.